Generated with MOOJ Proforms Version 1.5
*Required information.
Mindful and Compassionate Communication in the Classroom

This training is suitable for all teachers, particularly those who have a particular interest in bringing mindfulness practices into the classroom to improve the quality of teaching, learning and the cultural context in which this occurs.  It will also be beneficial for colleagues in the early phases of their career to help them to manage the challenges that teaching can present.

Mindful Compassionate Communication’ is a process which brings greater awareness and new tools to how we speak, how we receive others, and how we listen.

The two-day course aims to support teachers in handling classroom communications calmly, and defusing crises confidently so that everyone’s needs – teachers and pupils – can be respected and valued.

The benefits of the training are as follows:

  • Improve expressing & listening skills
  • Understand hidden needs, values & motivations
  • Sift interpretations from observations; & making clear requests
  • Handle anger, blame or tension skilfully & professionally
  • Clarify the cause of conflicts & how to resolve them
  • Deal with demands, while standing one's own ground
  • How to say No (or hear No) without offending
  • Feel empowered – avoiding ‘power over' or 'power under' ways of operating.
  • Be more alert to verbal, non-verbal & written cues

Course Leaders: Taravajra and Annie Rankin. Taravajra holds an MA in Mindfulness Based Approaches from Bangor University, and a LL.M (Master of Laws from LSE.  He now teachers at the Centre for Mindfulness Research and Practice in Bangor.  Annie is an integrative counsellor and certified trainer in Nonviolent Communication (NVC).

Dates: Monday 27th March and Tuesday 28th March

Times: Full day

Venue: Kettering

Cost: £150 for the two-day course.  (20% reduction for Inspire Schools). Lunch and refreshments provided.

About You
Title *
First Name *
Surname *
Email Address *
School *
School Address *
Contact Telephone *
Additional Delegates